Thursday, April 8, 2010

Exchange’s shared mailbox won’t save your sent or deleted Items in its mailbox owner.

Normally on a Microsoft Exchange shared mailbox you will like to save your information on your personal mailbox, and the shared mailbox info in its mailbox (OWA does it like that, but no Outlook). I was surprise that this is not the default configuration of Outlook, and Microsoft has their reason which I don’t plan to cover here.

This is a known [issue, option] on Outlook 2007. Basically you will need to add these two entries in the registry. The first one is focus on the Sent Item, next one on Delete items.

You must add a DWORD = 1 value or update any value it already exists for the sent mails to go to its respective mailbox.


You must add a DWORD = 8 to stored items on your personal mailbox, or 4 to stores deleted items in the mailbox owner (Shared mailbox).

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\[version]\Outlook\Options\General\ DelegateWastebasketStyle

Note: both registries entries have a section [version] replaced this with 9.0 for Outlook 2000, 10.0 for 2002, 11.0 for 2003, 12.0 for 2007, etc.

Of course you can supply this info to you AD Admin, this way he send this registry to your AD machines through a GPO.

Monday, April 5, 2010

Sharepoint Read-Only after restore and (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))

After restoring your Sharepoint Collection Site you get access is denied. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))

You notice that owners, Administrator, an members don’t have write access and when trying to add a user, or any other write command to the site you get:

stsadm -o adduser -url http://wssServer -userlogin matOS\e1m -useremail -role "Full Control" -siteadmin -username "Eddie"

Access is denied. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))

I personally started getting this error when the site was in a locked state, drove me crazy since I thought it was related with permissions or inheritance. Plus my restored at the moment came from a production Domain, and I was restoring in a Testing environment with a testing Domain with different SID

Another reason is because your site it’s over the Quota limit, or because the site was locked when you took the backup of the site.

Not even the Owners, Members, or even Application Administrator will have write access to the site.

This command will remove the lock of you site collection.

stsadm -o setsitelock -url http://wssServer -lock none

Using the Central Administration you can click under Application Management
Click on "Site Collection Quotas and Locks", select your site collection and set it to “Not locked”.

More info at